THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE LONG ISLAND POWER AUTHORITY RECOGNIZES THE DEDICATED SERVICE OF CHAIRPERSON RALPH V. SUOZZI

WHEREAS, Chair Ralph V. Suozzi is a lifelong Long Island resident and a graduate of Long Island University C.W. Post; and

WHEREAS, Chair Suozzi has a distinguished record of service to his community, previously as Mayor of the City of Glen Cove and most recently as Village Administrator for the Village of Garden City; and

WHEREAS, Chair Suozzi was appointed Chairperson of the Board of Trustees on December 27, 2013 after Superstorm Sandy and provided the necessary leadership to an entirely new Board of Trustees during a challenging time in LIPA's history; and

WHEREAS, during Trustee Suozzi's term as Chair, using his more than 30 years of business and public sector experience, the Board undertook record investments to enhance electric reliability and storm resiliency, achieved four credit upgrades to the highest ratings in LIPA's history, all while holding electric rate increases below the rate of inflation; and

WHEREAS, during that same time, LIPA made great strides to advance New York State's transition to a carbon-free electric grid, including the approval of the first offshore windfarm in federal waters, three of the largest solar farms in New York, and new initiatives to promote the beneficial electrification of heating and transportation; and

WHEREAS, over the last year, Chair Suozzi's calm leadership provided direction during the COVID-19 pandemic and in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Isaias; and

WHEREAS, Chair Suozzi is widely recognized as respectful, thoughtful, patient, and genuine; and

WHEREAS, Chair Suozzi diligently served the people of Long Island and the Rockaways during his tenure on the LIPA Board and used his experience in business and government to be a vocal advocate for a smarter, cleaner, and more affordable electric grid.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees hereby duly recognizes the friendship and faithful service of Chair Ralph Suozzi.

Mark Fischl, Vice Chair

Elkan Abramowitz Drew Biondo

Sheldon L. Cohen Ali Mohammed

Peter J. Gollon, Ph.D. Laureen Harris

